January 13, 2013

Tripura assembly election declared on 14th and result on 28th February 2013

The prestigious Election Commission of India announced elections or by-elections for the Legislative Assemblies of 10 States on this Friday. Among them regular polls that is going to happen for Tripura, Nagaland and Meghalaya will be on everyone's track. All 3 states will fight for their 60 members in the Assembly. The decided dates are as follows: Election for Tripura on February 14, the elections for Meghalaya and Nagaland Assemblies will be on February 23 respectively.

As per Chief Election Commissioner V S Sampath:
With the announcement of schedule for the two-phase poll in the North Eastern states and bypolls in various states, the Model Code of Conduct will be in operation with immediate effect and EC will keep a strict vigil on any violation of the Code.

For Tripura election notification will be issued on 21st January 2013. Among 60 Assemly seats 10 are researved for SCs, 20 are researved for STs and rest are general. Candidates has to file their nomination by 28th January and last date of withdrawl of nomination will be on 30th january 2013.The election result will be disclosed on 28th february for tripura. 

So far Congress has announced their first list of candidates who are going to participate in this poll. Although CPI is favorite like earlier years, but this time no one can take congress lightly. Especially what happened in West Bengal's election last year.

So far 75,090 new voters have been listed in this years Assembly election which is somewhere a 3.3 % hike. Tripura chief electoral officer Ashutosh Jindal said:
In the final electoral roll, the total number of voters stands at 23,52,505 - 11,97,849 males and 11,54,656 females. Another 46,260 fake, dead and Bangladeshi voters had been dropped from the list of draft electoral roll.

Govt. has launched a toll free number 1950 to make people aware about the polling booths and other necessary information about Tripura Election 2013. This number will start operating from next Monday.
Source: TOI